Degree Discipline for Religious Education Secondary

Doing your PGCE? Chat here to other students, Teachers and NQT's

Moderator: TeachersTalk

Postby benjybody on Mon Oct 23, 2006 5:13 pm

I am applying for entry to the above course, to begin September 2007. I am a recent graduate BA (Hons) History of Art, University of Manchester (2:1). I have always wanted to teach, yet after extensive schools/educational experience, I have decided that I would more suited and better equipped to teach secondary rather than primary. Over the next year, I am arranging a regular placement in RE/RS lessons at a local secondary school to enhance my experience.

My degree concentration, despite being a broad spectrum humanities subject by name, has strong theological/religious connections. From the 360 credits of the degree, 60 credits were directly taught from the department of Religions and Theology, my dissertation discussed Orthodox Monasticism and the rest of my degree, although taught in the department of art history was theology based, including courses in Oriental Christianity, Islam, Philosophy and Christian books.

In addition, I took A Level Religious Studies (Grade A) and both GCSE Religious Studies (Grade A*) and GCSE SC Religious Education (Grade A*). I could also offer a second subject in schools, in that 40 credits of my degree were taken in Spanish language, on top of my GCSE and A Level in the subject. Furthermore, coming from a humanities background, I feel I would be well equipped to cover both history and art lessons when necessary.

I feel well suited to take this PGCE course, but I am writing to ask if you think my application would be considered?

Any advice would be gratefully received.
Ben :)
benjybody
Just Registered
Just Registered

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: PGCE Religious Studies

Postby Cath Milnes on Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:03 pm